There’s no such thing as ‘Meant to be…’

There’s no such thing as ‘meant to be’
As if some deity meant it
But if I say ‘You’re meant for me’
I didn’t just invent it.
It’s ‘meant for me’, not ‘sent for me’
(provided you consent to me)
So, when I say ‘we’re meant to be’
It’s me, I mean, who meant it…

3 responses to “There’s no such thing as ‘Meant to be…’

  1. I love this! I know I am some random stranger but I googled ‘no such thing as meant to be’ because I’m going through some things right now…

    This really hit home. Thank you!

  2. Belated thanks for nice comment, my friend! This poem was really just a playful mind-doodle in which I was probably just trying to pack in a whole load of soundalike phrases in as few lines as possible. But at the same time, I think it carries a certain truth … which you have picked up on. Hope the things you’ve been going through are sorting themselves out, on way or the other… 🙂

  3. Thanks so much for this. I have it copied in my section of favorite quotes, poems and adages of my travelers notebook where I can peruse every now and again. If you ever publish your own works, you know you’ve got a fan. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

