Said the Owl to the Dove…

‘I wish to woo, I wish to woo’
Said the owl to the dove
(For woo’s what you do
When you’re falling in love),
‘I wish to woo,
I wish to woo,
I wish to woo…’

‘Who-who would you woo?’
Cooed the dove in alarm,
‘For I live in a cote,
While you live in a barn,
Which won’t do,
It won’t do,
It won’t do…’

‘If that’s true’, said the owl
Sadly shaking his head,
‘I suppose I might ask
The wood-pigeon instead,
I wish to woo,
I wish to woo,
I wish to woo…’

‘Coo-coo!  You’re so cute,’
Said the friendly wood-pigeon,
‘But to hunt and to hoot
Go against my religion,
It won’t do,
It won’t do,
It won’t do…’

‘If that’s true,’ said the owl
Sadly shaking his head,
‘I suppose I might ask
The fat cuckoo instead,
I wish to woo,
I wish to woo,
I wish to woo…’

‘Well I might steal your nest,’
Laughed the jolly cuckoo,
‘But if you think that I’d want
An old moon-face like you,
You’re cuckoo,
You’re cuckoo,
Your’e cuckoo…! ’

‘Honk Honk!’ hissed the swan,
‘Quack off!’ said the duck,
The hen gave the owl
Her most furious cluck,
‘It won’t do,
It won’t do,
It won’t do…’

‘Dear, dear,’ said the owl
If I can’t find a bird,
Then maybe an animal
Is not so absurd?
I wish to woo,
I wish to woo,
I wish to woo…’

‘Hee-haw,’ laughed the donkey,
Said the camel, ‘Harrumph!’
‘Thick, thick!’, chirped the cricket
The elephant trumped,
The dog growled at owl,
And the cat said, ‘Me, how?’
‘Eek!’ screamed the guinea-pig
‘Bad moos’, said the cow,
The monkey threw coconuts
‘Neigh, Nay!’ said the pony…
At the end of the day,
Owl was really quite lonely.
For all that he’d heard,
His wretched life through:
‘It won’t do,
It won’t do,
It won’t do…’

So if you go out
While the full moon is bright,
Here is the song
Owl still sings in the night,
‘I wish to woo,
I wish to woo,
I wish to woo…’

Leave a Reply

